10 Basic Facts About the New Testament Canon

Here is the post to the second significant series on the canon written by Michael J. Kruger. This one is entitled, “Ten Basic Facts about the NT Canon that Every Christian Should Memorize.”

Kruger explained the focus of this series: “This new blog series is designed to help the lay believer learn some basic facts about the New Testament canon—the kind of facts that might be helpful in a conversation with a skeptic or inquisitive friend.

  1. The New Testament Books are the Earliest Christian Writings We Possess
  2. Apocryphal Writings are All Written in the Second Century or Later
  3. The New Testament Books Are Unique Because They Are Apostolic Books
  4. Some NT Writers Quote Other NT Writers as Scripture
  5. The Four Gospels are Well Established by the End of the Second Century
  6. At the End of the Second Century, the Muratorian Fragment Lists 22 of our 27 NT books
  7. Early Christians Often Used Non-Canonical Writings
  8. The NT Canon Was Not Decided at Nicea—Nor Any Other Church Council
  9. Christians Did Disagree about the Canonicity of Some NT Books
  10. Early Christians Believed that Canonical Books were Self-Authenticating

Please forward these insightful writings on to others. But before you do, make sure you have read them. There is much for you to learn (or be reminded) too!

Email Updates

Subscribe to receive EFCA blog updates.

* indicates required